8th Pay Commission and Kerala (Keralam) Employees
The 8th Pay Commission is for central government employees and pensioners, including those posted in Kerala (Keralam). Kerala (Keralam)'s own employees get pay revisions decided by the state government.
Checked 22 October 2026. State orders change; check the latest with your treasury or department.
Kerala (Keralam) government employees
Keralam (formerly Kerala) does not use the central 7th CPC pay matrix. It revises pay through its own Pay Revision Commission, roughly every five years. The scales in force come from the 11th Pay Revision Commission (chairman K. Mohandas): Government Order G.O.(P) No. 27/2021/Fin dated 10 February 2021 revised pay with effect from 1 July 2019, with the new pay paid in cash from the March 2021 salary (1 April 2021). The state master scale tops out at Rs 1,66,800, and the lowest scale is Rs 23,000-50,200. The 2019 scales were built by merging 28% DA, so Keralam's DA is a separate state series and its percentage is not comparable with the central DA. The previous revision (10th PRC) took effect from 1 July 2014. Source
DA for Kerala (Keralam) government employees: 37% (payable from the October 2026 salary; the order states no effective date). Source Raised from 35% to 37% on the 2019 pay scales. The order gives no effective date for the new rate: 37% is paid with the October 2026 salary (disbursed in November 2026), and the order says orders on arrears 'with effect from 01.01.2026' will be issued separately, which points to 1 January 2026 but does not state it. Dearness relief for pensioners rises to 37% with the November 2026 pension. Earlier in 2026, G.O.(P) No. 27/2026/Fin of 20 February 2026 had raised DA from 25% to 35%. Staff on UGC/AICTE/Medical Education scales get central-style DA under a separate order (G.O.(P) No. 109/2026/Fin, same date). KSEB and KSRTC issue their own DA orders. Kerala (Keralam) pays DA on its own pay scales, so this rate cannot be compared with the central rate.
Order: G.O.(P) No. 108/2026/Fin, Finance (Pay Research Unit) Department, Thiruvananthapuram, dated 17-10-2026: DA on the 2019 pay scales raised from 35% to 37%
Next pay revision for state employees: Official steps taken: the 2026-27 budget speech of 29 January 2026 (para 742) announced the 12th Pay Revision Commission. G.O.(Ms) No. 24/2026/Fin of 23 February 2026 constituted it with Dr V.P. Joy, retired Chief Secretary, as chairman; G.O.(Ms) No. 37/2026/Fin of 5 March 2026 set its terms of reference: pay and pension to be revised from 1 July 2024, report within three months. After the change of government in 2026, we found no official order extending or reconstituting the commission as of 22 October 2026. News reports say a white paper on the state's finances, presented in June 2026, suggested revising pay once in ten years; we could not open the official document. It is a suggestion, not a decision. We found no report from the commission. Source
Central government employees in Kerala (Keralam)
Central staff get the same pay matrix and DA everywhere. HRA and transport allowance depend on the city of the office:
Every other place in Kerala (Keralam) is Z class: 10% HRA today.
CGHS is available in Kozhikode, Kochi, Thiruvananthapuram.
Central employees: estimate your likely 8th CPC pay →
Will the 8th Pay Commission apply to Kerala (Keralam) government employees?
Not automatically. The 8th Central Pay Commission covers central government employees and pensioners; Kerala (Keralam) decides pay for its own employees. Next pay revision for state employees: Official steps taken: the 2026-27 budget speech of 29 January 2026 (para 742) announced the 12th Pay Revision Commission. G.O.(Ms) No. 24/2026/Fin of 23 February 2026 constituted it with Dr V.P. Joy, retired Chief Secretary, as chairman; G.O.(Ms) No. 37/2026/Fin of 5 March 2026 set its terms of reference: pay and pension to be revised from 1 July 2024, report within three months. After the change of government in 2026, we found no official order extending or reconstituting the commission as of 22 October 2026. News reports say a white paper on the state's finances, presented in June 2026, suggested revising pay once in ten years; we could not open the official document. It is a suggestion, not a decision. We found no report from the commission.
What is the DA for Kerala (Keralam) government employees?
DA for Kerala (Keralam) government employees: 37% (payable from the October 2026 salary; the order states no effective date). Raised from 35% to 37% on the 2019 pay scales. The order gives no effective date for the new rate: 37% is paid with the October 2026 salary (disbursed in November 2026), and the order says orders on arrears 'with effect from 01.01.2026' will be issued separately, which points to 1 January 2026 but does not state it. Dearness relief for pensioners rises to 37% with the November 2026 pension. Earlier in 2026, G.O.(P) No. 27/2026/Fin of 20 February 2026 had raised DA from 25% to 35%. Staff on UGC/AICTE/Medical Education scales get central-style DA under a separate order (G.O.(P) No. 109/2026/Fin, same date). KSEB and KSRTC issue their own DA orders. Kerala (Keralam) pays DA on its own pay scales, so this rate cannot be compared with the central rate. Order: G.O.(P) No. 108/2026/Fin, Finance (Pay Research Unit) Department, Thiruvananthapuram, dated 17-10-2026: DA on the 2019 pay scales raised from 35% to 37%
Which cities in Kerala (Keralam) are X or Y for central government HRA?
Kozhikode (Y), Kochi (Y), Thiruvananthapuram (Y), Thrissur (Y), Malappuram (Y), Kannur (Y), Kollam (Y). Everything else is Z.